Mission accomplished-ish

As I mentioned yesterday, I really wanted to go to a movie today and bake some pies but my clothing needed tending to 🙂 Let’s just say I compromised  and worked a little and played a little too!

We drove to south Austin and visited a few of our “old” places:

 

We stopped by a donut shop to get one of my favorite teas and they quit selling it 😦 I’ve had the hardest time finding this tea, it’s called Honest Tea and it’s a green tea with just a hint of honey….the search continues!  I couldn’t resist a handful of donut holes!

 

 

 

We had to stop by Homegoods and take a look, they should open a central or North Austin store!

 

 

Every New Years Day, or sometime in January, I’ve made a tradition to bake these mini-blueberry pies….so I did it today!

 

 

 

Here’s the recipe I followed from My Life Is Yummy blog:

Ingredients:
1 box of pre-made pie crust
3 pints of blueberries (washed)
2Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
Directions:
1. Pre-heat oven to 400°F
2. Roll out small balls of pre-made pie crust and line the cupcake tin with the dough.
3. Combine blueberries, flour, lemon juice, and sugar and place mixture in each crust in each cupcake hole.
4. Bake for 20 minutes at 400°. Reduce heat to 300°F and bake for another 20 min until juices are bubbling.
5. Let the mini pies cool before removing from cupcake pan.
6. Serve with ice cream or whipped cream!
This year I decided to bake some mini-pecan pies for Dave 🙂
Here is the recipe I followed from Allrecipes.com:
(I only made a half dozen since it’s just us. There is a recipe calculator on this site, very helpful!)
Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1-1/2 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/4 pinch salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans

Directions

  1. To Make Pastry: Cream butter or margarine and cream cheese. Add flour and mix well. Make into 48 balls; place one ball in each cup of a mini tart pan. Use your fingers or a tart tamper to press out into a tart shell.
  2. To Make Filling: Break the eggs, but do not beat. Add sugar, melted butter, salt, vanilla and pecans. Mix well. Fill the tart shells. Bake at 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) for about 30 minutes or until delicately browned.
They turned out yummy and Dave made a quick whipping cream, so gooooood!
As for the work, I did about 4 loads of laundry and hung it all:
And a made a huge dent on my project of organizing my closet:
I must say I feel somewhat accomplished on my last day of winter break, now onto a 3 day work week!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

